The Torre del Conde or Torre Conde is one of the coastal surveillance towers that are distributed by the Huerta de Alicante, in the city of Alicante (Spain). It is located in the vicinity of the entity of Santa Faz, on the path of the Huerta, between the paths of the beach of San Juan and Benimagrell road. It was built in the sixteenth century to protect the Huerta de Alicante from the incursions of pirates, and is part of the group of towers that were protected in 1997 with the declaration of Cultural Interest. It is a property of private property, being its owner in 1999 Rafaela Gómez Bardina, who kept it in total abandonment. In addition to the tower, the ruins of the house and winery that were built adjoining the fortification, so typical in Alicante's huerta, are preserved. At present it is restored, but again abandoned. It is a rectangular building with a height of more than 7.5 meters, divided into three levels and a semi-basement. Its factory is of mapostería with reinforcement of ashlars in the corners. The interior is accessed through a semicircular arch, and the levels are practicable by means of a spiral staircase.
This tower is an excellent example of military-defensive architecture adapted to the social circumstances of these centuries and it is known that at least 30 towers existed, of which many of them are properly cataloged, while others have disappeared completely . Its construction dates from the late sixteenth century. It is one of the smallest towers in the La Condomina area. With an almost square floor plan (5.90 x 6.90 m), it has a prismatic volume. It rises on a pyramidal plinth and has two levels on it. The original access is located on the level of the ground floor on the north facade, on which the remains of the old house to which it was attached and that was demolished clandestinely in the year 1982 can be seen. It seems that there was a semi-basement under the lower floor, coinciding with the base of the truncated pyramid, since there is a hollow with a lintel in a segmental arch that is currently blinded. The tower is broken. At least it lacks the cover and the auction of it (if a possible third floor has not been deleted). The interior conserves the old staircase, of helicoidal layout. The two slabs on the basement are made of wooden beams. The walls of the tower are of sillarejo factory covered with worn mortar, with ashlars in the corners and in the primitive hollows (the access and to the east), and have a thickness of almost 1 meter. Some ashlars present a good state of conservation, in some corner and in the plinth, reason why they must be of recent incorporation, since they are of different stone to the sandstone of their original factory.
It is a tower of two heights, made with masonry and attached to a house with the same name, located in the central area of the garden of the Partida de la Condomina.
It was built to defend the monastery and the adjacent hamlet from attacks by pirates. Within the set of towers and watchtowers of the city, it is one of the latest to be built. It was one of the works of military engineering raised in the city by Italian Giovanni Bautista Antonelli (1527-1588), in the year 1575. It is the best documented tower of those that exist in the city, and is in perfect condition. . It is a square silver construction of about eight meters on each side, divided into four floors and topped with a terrace. Its factory is masonry, and is reinforced in its corners with rows of stone blocks. Its upper corners are topped by four garitones, an aspect that differentiates it from the rest of the surveillance towers in the area; In addition, a classicist molding runs through its upper perimeter.
The Pobla Medieval d 'Ifac stands out for being currently a unique site in the Valencian Community, and is the only Pobla de Conquista that has not been investigated, excavated or transformed beforehand, which makes it a unique and exceptional site. It is an urban enclave of the late thirteenth century, driven by Admiral Roger de Llúria, one of the most important characters of this time. It is a huge walled enclosure, endowed with a complex access system, rooms, warehouses, houses and an imposing church dedicated to Our Lady of the Angels with a medieval necropolis at its feet. It will be a short-lived foundation, not exceeding 100 years of existence. The historical ups and downs forced the abandonment and transfer of the settlers of Ifach to the hill where the walls and the Casco Antiguo de Calp are currently located.
Located in the Tosal de La Cometa, it is a set of historical-religious interest, consisting of buildings of an old fortified farmhouse built at the end of the 17th century or the beginning of the 18th century. It is estimated that the hermitage, built under the dedication of St. John the Baptist, was the particular oratory of the fortifications of the rural area of La Cometa. In front of the hermitage, there are two "riu-rau" and there are still three wells, one of them conserving its conical roof, a cistern and a system for rainwater collection. Here, the San Juan festivities are celebrated annually, on June 24.
Download your Alicante guide!