The Palace of the Marquises of Ruvalcaba, or Ruvalcaba Palace, is an Oriolan palace that was formerly owned by the Sagredo Bassieres and Heredia Marquises de Ruvalcaba family. In the 1980s it was acquired by the municipality of Orihuela, the current owner, as a place for large receptions in the city. At present it is closed to visitors. The Palace was built by the 1930s, on the site that was left after the Abacial House of the Church of Santiago collapsed. It belonged to the family of the Marquis of Rubalcava, constituting this his residence. It was acquired by the Hon. Orihuela City Council in 1981, with the aim of conserving and being able to offer the public its interior and to give it a social and cultural use. In 1981 the municipal office of tourism was installed there, occupying it until nowadays. However, this has not been the only use it has had since in 1982 the Association of Moors and Christians Festivities "Santas Justa y Rufina" used part of its ground floor as its headquarters; in 1986 it became the Archaeological Museum and in 1990 it was used as the headquarters of the Municipal Department of Social Services. The Rubalcava Palace was included in its day in the "Provisional Guide of Architecture of Orihuela" due to its evident architectural interest, edited by the Historical Archive Commission of the College of Architects of Alicante. At the moment it appears in the Catalog of the Special Plan of Protection of the Historical Helmet of Orihuela. The building consists of three main floors with small mezzanines. At first the ground floor was used as an office, home of the landlords and garages. The first floor, which is the main area of the palace, is occupied by a series of ostentatious rooms. Also in it was the main kitchen. On the second floor were the bedrooms of the marquesal family and on a mezzanine floor a second kitchen. Apart the palace consists of gardens with an iron gate on masonry walls. These walls contribute to isolate the building from the outside, while providing recreational areas, with fountains and benches of tiles and wrought iron. The building was built imitating the scheme of the baroque Oriolan palaces. The scheme that followed the Ruvalcaba palace of said Oriolan palaces is to have a hallway illuminated by a Neo-Baroque dome with an elliptical plan and access to the main floor by means of a marble staircase with Valencian tile base.
This is a luxurious noble Roman villa constructed in the IV Century AD. It is made up of a large patio with columns surrounded by a wide corridor which gives access to 7 rooms -triclinium (dinning room), oecus (living room) and cubicula (bedrooms)- decorated with polychrome geometrical mosaics and mural paintings. This mansion must have been the residence of a rich family which was involved in the Portus Illicitanus. An aristocratic landowning family lived in this house. Like all rich people of the time, they placed great importance on the decorating of rooms, using materials such as marble, alabaster and making paintings and mosaics. In order to avoid the darkness of the nights, they lit up the house with oil lamps (made of clay or bronze). Due to their religiousness, they had a special place in the house where they worshiped the gods, above all Venus, the goddess of the fishermen.
Fortress of the XI century, created by the Muslims, is located on the rock in the highest part of the municipality. It had a very important role throughout the Middle and Modern Ages, thanks to its strategic location. The earthquakes of 1644 and 1748 and the blast that he suffered in 1708 in the War of Succession were the culprits of its destruction.
The Castillo de la Mola is located on a small hill at 360 m. of altitude in relation to the sea. It is 3 km away. from the town of Novelda, in northwest direction. Fort of Islamic origin, it was built at the end of the 12th century. Its plant is polygonal with eight quadrangular cubes in salient, of which at the moment only there are four, two of them masked, with a square tower in its interior, at present desmochada, all this of tapial factory, on base of masonry. This exempt tower has 9 m. of side by 11 of height, although at the moment it lacks a floor; It has a lower room illuminated by an embrasure. You enter the tower through a half-point door and located in height. After the Christian conquest of the Castle by the hosts of the Infante Don Alfonso de Castilla, land and strength passed to the Castellana Crown. With the signing of the Pact of Elche in 1305, the Castle and its dependencies pass to the Aragonese Crown, forming part of these lands of the Kingdom of Valencia. It is then when the fortress is donated to Doña Blanca d'Anjou, wife of Jaime II, who orders the reconstruction of its deteriorated walls, taking place during the fourteenth century, a series of reforms in the fortified enclosure, and building on its northwest flank a magnificent triangular tower. The tower of 15 m. on the side by 17 m. of height has no known parallels to the present; It is made of masonry, with reinforcement of chairs in the corners. It is accessed through a semi-circular door facing northwest and located in height, masonry factory. It has two floors and its interior lighting is made through several loopholes. In the middle of the 14th century, the Aragonese King Pedro the Ceremonious, gives the possession of the Castle to Beltrán du Glesquin, noble Breton come to the Iberian Peninsula with the White Companies, as payment for his help in the War of the Pedros, a year later . In 1367 it is sold to Hugo de Calviley, who in 1371 sells it to Mateo de Gornay, Lord of Novelda. Years later he goes back to the crown, being donated by Pedro IV to his wife Doña Sibila de Forcia. In 1391, Don Pedro Maza de Lizana, Lord of Mogente and Chinosa, bought La Mola from Doña Violante de Bar, and in 1448 the Barony of Novelda was established. From that moment the Mola was part of this important manor house, until the abolition of the manors in the first decades of the nineteenth century. Since 1931 it has been declared an Asset of Cultural Interest. Open to the public every day of the year. Free entrance. From Monday to Sunday from 10am to 2pm and from 4pm to 7pm. (Winter) From Monday to Sunday from 10am to 2pm and from 5pm to 8pm. (Summer)
It rises from a height of 830 meters. It is an exponent of Islamic culture. It is a fortress of great dimensions and although it has been reconstructed in its entirety, remains of its primitive construction can still be seen. The different enclosures bring us closer to past times and their ways of life. It consists of a polygonal floor plan with a double walled enclosure, in which the Torre del Homenaje stands out, dating back to the Almohade period (12th - 13th centuries) built using the mud technique (lime, sand, water and small stones). The access to the site is made by the northeast, where we access the courtyard, here was located the bloodmill (powered by animal traction). If we go up the stairs we find a second door in ashlar masonry dating from 1803 that gives us access to two other rooms, on the right the cistern and on the other side the rooms that housed the surveillance troops. The last section takes us to the keep, where the Fester Museum is located and consists of 3 floors. From the top of the tower you can see 4 provinces (Albacete, Murcia, Alicante and Valencia) In addition, the castle has witnessed several wars, including the war of succession that took place in 1705, where he welcomed the population fleeing the sieges and fires that the town suffered several times. The fidelity shown to Felipe V in this war was rewarded with the title of noble, faithful, loyal and real villa, which currently appears on the municipality's coat of arms.
The Castle of the River is located 4 kilometers from the town of Aspe, (Vinalopó Medio), on a mound near the confluence of the Tarafa River with the Vinalopó River, from its location you can also see the Castle of La Mola in Novelda and the tower of Monforte del Cid. It is a walled enclosure located on a mound called "Tabayá" near the confluence of the Tarafa river with the Vinalopó, 3 km from the current Casco Urbano. Of Almoravid origin, concretely of the first third of Century XII, it was the first settlement nucleus of Aspe, known like "Aspe el Viejo"; In spite of it, in their environs also they have been rest of a previous establishment in the Iberian time. The walled enclosure, formed by 12 towers, lacks a keep and is currently partially demolished. In spite of this, canvases of walls and the base of several of their towers are conserved. The different investigations that have taken place in it, due to its great archaeological importance, allow us to see excavations thanks to which the visitor can get an idea of what that enclosure should have been, built in its base in masonry, and from 1 , 5 m of rammed earth and boulders. It found one of the only two Arab plows found in all of Spain and is currently exposed in the Provincial Archaeological Museum of Alicante (MARQ). It is easily accessible through the road that connects Aspe with the Madrid-Alicante motorway.
It rises on one of the two hills that dominate the town of the same name, northeast of the town, in the Middle Vinalopó (Alicante, Spain). The Castle of Monóvar was built in the Almohad period, between the end of the 12th century and the beginning of the 13th, and was used until the beginning of the 17th century. It had a privileged situation, from which dominated the network of fortifications that marked the Vinalopó River, (the castles and the Elda turret, and Petrel Castle), as well as the communication route of the Pinoso-Jumilla corridor, natural exit towards Murcia and Andalusia. It was a castle with an irregular plan, similar to a triangle. In the center is the Homage Tower, where there was also a cistern. You can also see remains of a smaller tower on the north face, and some canvases of the wall. In the archaeological excavations that have been made on the hill where the castle was erected, archaeological remains from the Bronze Age, fragments of Almohad pottery from the 12th and 13th centuries, a piece of jewelery from the 15th or 16th centuries and fragments of jugs, plates and bowls from the fourteenth century onwards. At present it is in ruins and only retains part of a tower, recently restored.
The obligatory visit of the traveler who arrives at Novelda is to the Sanctuary of Santa María Magdalena. This religious building was built from a project drawn up by the novel engineer Don José Sala Sala who imbued his project with the Catalan modernist style. Its construction, begun in 1918, required three phases, to complete the work in 1946. Two 25 m lateral towers stand out on the main façade. of height culminated by a stony cross, which is also found in the dome and on the upper arches of the façade. The decorative reasons would have antecedents in the medieval styles, baroque and in the own nature; influences that led the author to combine pebbles from the Vinalopó river, polychrome tiles, bricks, reddish colors, masonry, etc., which are reflected throughout the exterior of the building. The interior is composed of a rectangular central nave with two attached side spaces; In the background, in the apse, is the dressing room of St. Mary Magdalene, Patroness of Novelda, and behind the altar we can admire a beautiful painting attributed to Gaston Castelló. The maintenance and restoration works are constant, the last of them carried out during the year 2006 where the pictorial recovery of several of the canvases that decorate the temple was carried out and among which the work of the renowned artist should be highlighted. Alicante artist Gastón Castelló located in the center of the altar.
The Castle of Alcozaiba is located in the part of the rocky cliffs of greater verticality of the town of El Castell de Guadalest, province of Alicante. The fortress of Alcozaiba was built in the 11th century by the Muslims, and is located in the domain of the old Casa Orduña. Guadalest, a town of Islamic origin, whose fortifications were considered very valuable, was conquered by the troops of Jaime I, who yielded it to Vidal de Sarrià, whose family he belonged to until 1335, and later to the Infante Pedro de Aragón. From 1543 it was the center of the Marquesado de Guadalest, with which Carlos I distinguished Sancho Folc de Cardona and Ruíz de Lihory. It exerted its territoriality over a large number of population centers, most of which were depopulated after the expulsion of the Moors in 1609. It is noteworthy that the Orduña family maintained a permanent link with the city, as wardens of their strengths, governors or justices. A strong earthquake in 1644 seriously affected the fortification and the houses of the town. During the War of Succession it would suffer serious damage again due to the explosion of a mine. The defensive structure of the old Guadalest was composed of two castles, the castle of Alcozaiba and the castle of San José. The castle of San José is of Muslim origin. Currently, only one tower remains that has been restored.
Day by day, as a jealous guardian of the people, with the vibrant sound of the bell that gets into our minds by printing new strength and essence reminds us of the time of relentless work, media transformation, maturation and progress. Its history dates back to 1887, being mayor D. Francisco Rico Lucas, when he remembers asking a project for a tower architects of Alicante D. José Guardiola Picó and D. Enrique Sánchez Sedeño. In 1889 a new watch is bought in Madrid, for 11,000 pesetas. (Present), which would consist of machinery, three bells (large classic, and two smaller hemispherical), four areas, weights for rope and a floor for support campanile. It is wound with a crank, pushing weights hanging from two separate wire rope (as is done with a cuckoo). Weights are three: 500, 200 and 100 kilos; The big one is for hours, the median for the quarter, and lower the clock keeps running.
Download your Alicante guide!