The stairs located at the end of Avda. General Marvá, are an emblematic place of Alicante, an element present in the memory of Alicante's people since they can remember. Raised in the forties with the idea of serving as entrance to the park of the Doctor Rico and the wooded area of Tossal and San Fernando Castle
"El Calvario" is an emblematic district of Santa Pola situated in one of the highest areas of the town. In 1967, the families who lived in the Castle moved to the state-subsidized housing of this district. This fishing quarter stands out because of its chapel, built in Mauresque style at the beginning of the 20th century and which houses the Virgen de la Piedad (Piety Virgin). The chapel stands at the end of the Calvary after a whole composed of the 14 Stations of the Cross. In the Middle Ages, many towns used to have a Calvary with its corresponding “via crucis”, as a visual catechism. In order to show their faith, the inhabitants chose a promontory on the outskirts of the village and erected a chapel at its summit. During the processions, the Via Crucis retinue set off from the church, went through the Plaza Mayor (Main Square) and followed the Calvario street that led to the start of the stations, where the mysteries were prayed while ascending slowly up to the chapel. Thanks to all these elements, we can date the Calvary back to 1850. Moreover, this little chapel, which went through a century of epidemics, would change its appearance during those moments of religious fervour experienced by the Spanish society in the 40’s, just after the Spanish Civil War. The current silhouette dates back to 1944.
Situated in the old church square, it was a project for an academistic temple approximately in the middle of the XIX Century. Feature writers say that “when a good part of the building had been done, the vault collapsed, leaving the entire building in ruins”. After having come to terms with the disaster, the works continued, only with the same misfortune to happen again a few years later. At the end of the XIX Century, an earthquake turned the new church into what was known in the town as the “broken church” (Bonmatí, 1981). Between 1935 and 1938 the current wholesale food market was constructed in its place. The grounds house several different businesses which offer fresh homemade products.
Leisure area and cultural space of Alicante, is considered one of the oldest squares in the city. One of the first names by which it was known back in the sixteenth century, was the plaza de la Puerta de la Huerta de Sueca. After the construction of new walls at the beginning of the 19th century, and the door disappeared, it was labeled with the name of Plaza de San Cristóbal.
Paseo Vistalegre, in front of the Real Club Náutico de Torrevieja. Bars and services and good views.
The Paseo de Gómiz is a pleasant walk that runs from the port to the elevator that goes up to the Castle of Santa Bárbara. You can walk along the beach between palm trees and access some shops, terraces and bars to cool off and admire the unforgettable landscape.
It was born in the XVIII century, it divided the municipality and today it is the most emblematic place and meeting point of the life of the sanvicenteros The current Plaza de España of San Vicente del Raspeig was the origin of the municipality. It was born with the birth of the church, built on an old hermitage in a tossal or promontory from which all the dry land of the Raspeig could be seen. Its origin dates back to the late eighteenth century when it was still a hamlet of Alicante and the houses were scattered. Throughout history it has received different names: Plaza de la Constitución, Plaza de la República and popularly known as the Plaza del Ayuntamiento or the church. The first reference to the Plaza de España is from 1744 and it was called Madrid Street or Plazuela de la Iglesia, because it was very small. That year the council of Alicante allows the creation of the main street that is born in the door of the church and with it the square. It is in turn the origin of the roads that started from San Vicente towards other towns: the main street that led to Alicante; the Elche road, current Colón street and the Madrid road, where products for sale were taken. The square is the one that structures the farmhouse, origin of the town.
Inaugurated in May 2010, the new City Hall has been built on a plot next to the Auditorium and the Social Center, in the Plaza de la Comunitat Valenciana. The building is composed of four floors in height and three of basement for underground parking, with capacity for 320 vehicles. Totally accessible for the disabled, it has an area of about 6,000 square meters. On its roof it has an alternative energy installation that partially supplies the building. The exterior urbanization occupies an area of 3,000 square meters, in addition to another 800 of landscaped area with irrigation by sprinkling and dripping, forming a longitudinal square that connects Cervantes and Pintor Picasso streets.
This main square —called Plaça de Dins— preserves the Classicist arches of the cloister of the Monastery of Saint Augustine. It was built in the 14th century and subsequently refurbished. In 1837, after the assets of the Church and religious communities were seized, the Monastery was acquired by the Town Hall and fitted out as housing and market. The architect who made the refurbishment and the extension was José Moltó Valor. A Gothic arch survives in one of the access to this square, from Santo Tomàs’s street. This is the only vestige of Saint Augustine's Church that once rose by the Monastery.
Download your Alicante guide!