It is a small square tower, consisting of ground floor and two floors, and topped by a terrace with cornice. On one of its sides there is a metal staircase that gives access to the roof, which suggests that the interior staircase is no longer preserved. Its low height and relatively large plant give it a voluminous, solid and noble appearance. It is devoid of battlements and ornaments.
It was built to defend the monastery and the adjacent hamlet from attacks by pirates. Within the set of towers and watchtowers of the city, it is one of the latest to be built. It was one of the works of military engineering raised in the city by Italian Giovanni Bautista Antonelli (1527-1588), in the year 1575. It is the best documented tower of those that exist in the city, and is in perfect condition. . It is a square silver construction of about eight meters on each side, divided into four floors and topped with a terrace. Its factory is masonry, and is reinforced in its corners with rows of stone blocks. Its upper corners are topped by four garitones, an aspect that differentiates it from the rest of the surveillance towers in the area; In addition, a classicist molding runs through its upper perimeter.
The also known as Torre del Barranc d'Aigües, like the Torre de la Illeta, was built in the second half of the XVI century as part of the network of watchtowers located along the entire Valencian coast to prevent attacks of Berber pirates. It is located in a protected landscape of great scenic beauty, which was the border line between the kingdoms of Castile and Aragon until 1296, when the monarch Jaime II annexed these territories definitively to the Aragonese crown and with it, to the Kingdom of Valencia. Although the upper part of the tower is quite deteriorated, it still retains the rest of its physiognomy that allows us to guess its original structure.
The city of Xàbia was protected and surrounded by fortified walls since 1874, the year which marked the definitive demolition of the defensive walls now surrounded by the present day ring roads. Hundreds of years previously, the early historical city centre of Xàbia possessed a defensive wall fortification since the beginning of the 14th Century of which now hardly any evidence remains. The detected ruins in this sector of the Avenida Príncipe de Asturias, the old ring road known as the “muralla de arriba” (upper wall), correspond to the wall, three buttress embankments which formed a type of barbican or rampart built at a relatively recent time in the early 19th Century; probably when the “new doorway” or Portal Nou was opened (18th of May 1805), or perhaps as a consequence of the Napoleonic war. These wall-faces, which have only conserved a 40/50 cm height today, are made with limestone masonry which were crafted with lime-based mortar, which used the local “tosca” (sandstone) blocks in the front section of the buttress embankments. The modern architectural intervention has consisted in consolidating and protecting the original work, which have raised the wall-faces approx. 60 cm to make them more visible.
It is located at the eastern end of Cape Santa Pola, on an old watchtower of the sixteenth century, called Atalayola. It was installed in 1858 for the orientation of the ships that sail along these coasts at night, especially for the Navy ships, which anchored in the bay of Santa Pola in the year of its construction. It currently has a light source located 152 meters above sea level and 15 meters above the ground; its appearance is FGpD (2 + 1) B with a period of 20 "; Its maximum range is 16 miles and is a visual reference of great help for navigation. From here you can see a magnificent view of the bay of Santa Pola, Alicante and the Island of Tabarca. In the clearest days you can see Cabo Cervera and Isla Grosa to the south and Peñón de Ifach to the east.
It rises from a height of 830 meters. It is an exponent of Islamic culture. It is a fortress of great dimensions and although it has been reconstructed in its entirety, remains of its primitive construction can still be seen. The different enclosures bring us closer to past times and their ways of life. It consists of a polygonal floor plan with a double walled enclosure, in which the Torre del Homenaje stands out, dating back to the Almohade period (12th - 13th centuries) built using the mud technique (lime, sand, water and small stones). The access to the site is made by the northeast, where we access the courtyard, here was located the bloodmill (powered by animal traction). If we go up the stairs we find a second door in ashlar masonry dating from 1803 that gives us access to two other rooms, on the right the cistern and on the other side the rooms that housed the surveillance troops. The last section takes us to the keep, where the Fester Museum is located and consists of 3 floors. From the top of the tower you can see 4 provinces (Albacete, Murcia, Alicante and Valencia) In addition, the castle has witnessed several wars, including the war of succession that took place in 1705, where he welcomed the population fleeing the sieges and fires that the town suffered several times. The fidelity shown to Felipe V in this war was rewarded with the title of noble, faithful, loyal and real villa, which currently appears on the municipality's coat of arms.
Constructed during the Almohade era between the end of the 12th century and the beginning of the 13th. After the Christian reconquest of the 13th century the main compound area and the wall were erected. This work to improve the defences was due to the stategic character of the historic frontier of Jijona, which from the Treaty of Almiza in 1244 marked the boundary of the kingdom of Aragon with the kingdom of Castille until 1304 when conquest by James II brought the townships of the south of the Alicante province into the kingdom of Valencia. Until then it was a key element in the defence of the Valencian border. At the foot of the castle, in an easterly direction, the town of Xixona expanded. Throughout the Middle Ages the importance of the castle diminished and so to did repairs to it. The last major work on it was recorded in the 15th century and there were some further minor repairs undertaken in the 16th century. During the war of succession it served as a refuge for the population of Jijona, who supported Philip V. It was attacked by the Archduke Carlos’s troops (Austracistas) and almost completely destroyed. In 1708 Philip V conceded the castle to the people of Jijona by royal decree.
The windmills of “Les Planes” district have ruled this scenic viewpoint since the first Building in the 14th Century. Years later, it was followed by another ten towers, whose ruins, currently without blades or roof, can still be observed in this exceptional corner of the coast although in different conservation levels. The windmills had to withstand the impact of the intense “llebeig", the warm southwest wind which blows in a practically steady basis in the Trencall de la Plana area. Today no longer in use, the windmills have sturdy mechanisms made of Kermes Oak wood which served to move the heavy circular millstones.
This building dates back to the 17th century (1620). The building served as the Town Hall and the Lonja de Contratación (trade marketplace). Its harmonious, simple façade is hewn from tosca stone. The ground floor has three half-pointed arches on the main façade and one on each side façade, forming an open porch. There are two windows on the first floor and a balcony over the impost that runs around the façade. It has a sundial dated 1639 and a back door that gives onto San José with a dintel decorated with a small curtain arch. Next door is the house of Constanza the sister of St Vicente Ferrer, Teulada's patron saint. The square where it stands, plaça de Els Portxes, has a plaque which commemorates the date when the municipal area gained its independence from Benissa and Calpe (1386).
In 1272, the king James I gave a consent to Guillem Ponç de Vilafranca in order to build a castle or tower on the ‘Peniella’ rock, with a territory between the castles of Alcoy and Penàguila dominions, inside the settlements of Penella and Forminyà. The architectural complex was built on a high point, very precipitous at the north and west sides. The buildings at east and south sides were built on a graded soil, while the tower and rectangular construction, that still stand, were built directly on the rock. The restoration of this monument, started in 2003 and finished in 2006 and has allowed the conservation of one of the rare witnesses of a convulsive and socioeconomical unsettled age.
Download your Alicante guide!