At the entrance to the Parque de L´Aigüera a very different monument greets visitors: The new Town Hall, colloquially known as the ‘floorscraper’. The unique structure has aroused the interest of many architects and a lot of people come to visit it. The building is like a bridge which acts as a doorway to the green zone ‘L´Aigüera’ park. It juts out horizontally and you can walk underneath it. This 'horizontal skyscraper' is supported by four pillars. The glass façade is covered with thick slats with the names and surnames of the over 60,000 inhabitants of Benidorm from the year when its construction was finished.
Doctor Antonio Rico Cabot was born in 1866 in Alicante. He obtained his Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery in Madrid, where he wanted to compete for a chair, but, faced with the fragility of his health, he returned to his homeland. In Alicante, he treated patients for free and won the affection of his fellow citizens. He was also a councilor in the City of Alicante and did much for his city, like recovering and hoisting lands, thus achieving a much better quality of life for everyone. A bust has been dedicated to him in the Ruiz de Alda Park of Monte Tossal. You can visit it by entering the Park through the Road of San Fernando Castle.
The tower is solid on the ground floor. To get inside it was necessary to climb a ladder that connected with the first floor. This improved the defence of the fortress in case of attack. From the first floor you can ascend to the second floor and from there to the cover terrace. The base is made of plastered masonry and the corners are made with ashlar reinforcement. The tower has several loopholes at different levels in all its facades. There is a chapel in the complex that preserves paintings with allegories to divine justice, the theological virtues and several cherubs. The residential building was articulated by a large hall that still preserves two arches. To the left, there is a store that was also used as a stable. The service units were located at the back of the ground floor. The main space was destined to the lords of the estate. There is a basement that preserves the cellar, a very important space where many wines were produced. At the rear of the house there was a large pool of water, pens and several oil mills. The estate was completed by extensive orchards with olive trees, carob trees, fig trees, almond trees and fruit trees, irrigated with water from the small irrigation canal of Ansaldo. This canal belonged to the network of irrigation canals of Alacant’s cropland. The estate is named after the Ansaldo family, native to Genoa, who first came to Alacant during the reconquest in the thirteenth century, at which time they received several possessions in Almoradí. In the fifteenth century, a part of the family emigrated to America and another to Cartagena (Murcia), attracted by the socioeconomic conditions of the city. In the seventeenth century the family settled permanently in Alacant where they carried out a commercial activity, especially wine exports. Currently, there are different proposals from the municipality to address the restoration and to make the most of Finca Ansaldo, as a space for cultural use, or as a centre of interpretation of the Torres de l’Horta (cropland Towers). The site has been declared an Asset of Cultural Interest.
The Resemblanc Tower is located south of the town of Elche, on the outside of a farm to which it is attached within the so-called Huerto de la Torreta. Its origin, like other towers of the garden of Elche, is due to the fact that in the year 1552 a Berber vessel headed by Salah Rais, arrives at the coast of Elche, in the vicinity of the beach of Pinet, poorly defended by some watchmen. , to prevent the smugglers from crossing the lagoon under cover of the night and the controls imposed by the Marquis of Elche, and they realize the little defensive presence. They take land and quickly go to the town of Elche, where, after attempting their assault, they captured important booty in goods and people. This causes the authorities and the upper classes to create what is known as the Coastguard, an institution responsible for creating a dense network of alert and prevention of attacks from coastal enclaves and urban enclosures, since in 1550 the pirate Dragut, a mercenary salary of the Turks, punished the coasts of the Alicante garden where the defenses relaxed. Therefore, the authorities decided to provide the coast of Elche and the town of Elche, as well as its garden, with a defensive system that would keep the alert against the Moorish attacks, thus creating a series of defense towers with the aim of stopping the attacks of the pirates, raising a system along the huert and ilicitana coast with several watchtowers, among which they highlighted Ressemblanc, Vaillós, Palombar, Carrús, Asprillas, Estaña and Gaitán, that together with the coastal ones of Tamarit, Pinet , Escaletes, Talayola and Carabassí, constituting the defensive system annexed to the city of Elche and the fortress of Santa Pola, thanks to the expert Italian engineer Giovanni Baptista Antonelli in the year 1,562. It is a garden tower with a square floor and a prismatic body of four heights. The base is slightly rounded thanks to a solid plinth with a beveled edge. All the filling is irregular masonry formed by limestone and rigged with white lime mortar and gravel. As noble elements it is necessary to emphasize the masonry chained of its corners, finishing off with a corsera, of which at the moment only the modillions of the same one are conserved. The openings are of ashlar masonry, accessing the interior by an architraveled door that is located at the height of the second floor, covered with wooden beams and sky plementry. The first floor is covered with a vaulted vault and has an open space to raise the floor. The two remaining heights are very similar, being covered by wooden beams and brick plinth. These four floors communicated with each other through a spiral staircase, built in brick and plaster, which allows access to the roof by means of a sentry box also raised in material analogues. It has several rectangular and linteled windows and in its South wall there is a shield emblazoned in stone adhered to it. All of it is in a perfect state of preservation. Like the Tower of Vaillós, there are no documentary references about its construction period, although it has been granted a low medieval or even Islamic origin. The most probable thing is that it was a low medieval tower that dates back to the end of the XV century or the beginning of the XVI century, and its function was created that was control and surveillance of a piece of the Mayor canal of the town, existing in its surroundings.
Visitors to Castell de Castalla will discover one of the main and best preserved fortifications in the province of Alicante; which in turn is part of the Patrimonial Ensemble of Castell de Castalla. The castle, declared BIC with the category of Monument, has three parts that allow to know the evolution of the fortification (erected in the 11th century by the Muslims and deeply reformed in the 14th and 15th centuries by the Christians); as well as who were the first settlers of the hill on which today the castle is based (occupied since the 2nd millennium BC). These parts are: the Palau, which is accessed through an intricate defensive system; the Pati d'Armes with its wall paintings, rooms and the cistern in very good original condition; and Torre Grossa, from which you can contemplate spectacular views of the Foia de Castalla and the mountains that surround it. Schedule: Guided visits: January April: Tuesday - Friday 16:30 h. Saturdays, Sundays and holidays 12:30 h. April-September: Tuesday - Friday 5:00 p.m. Saturdays and Sundays 12:30 h. In addition, on Sundays from May to June a visit at 11:00 h. May-September: Night visits Friday and Saturday at 22:00 h. and 23:55 h. July and August: at 11:30 h. October December: Tuesday-Friday 16:30 h. Saturdays, Sundays and holidays 12:30 h. Price: € 3; € 2 for retirees, Carnet Jove, students, groups (30 p). Free up to 8 years old. All visits will be made prior reservation at the tourist office: 966561018. Groups (30 p) can make your visit any day and time prior reservation in the turism office
La Torreta de Elda is a medieval defensive building located in the municipality of Elda, in the province of Alicante. It is considered as an Asset of Cultural Interest. It is located at a height of 550 meters and is a rectangular tower with four annexes, also rectangular. The date of construction is calculated between the end of the 14th century and the beginning of the 15th century. Its objective responded to the border location between the kingdoms of Castile and Valencia. In particular, the turret protected the road between Elda and Sax, as well as the path of La Noguera, which heads towards Petrel. It is documented that in 1386, the lady of Elda, Sibila de Forcia, asked Pedro IV de Aragón for a surveillance and customs service. Its continued use is recorded in a document of 1494 between the County of Cocentaina and the Bishopric of Cartagena, in which the Torreta is cited as possession of the then Lord of Elda, Juan Roig de Corella. In December of 1705, the Turret was used for military surveillance, in the context of the War of Succession. After the War of Independence it lost its function and was abandoned.
This stands on the highest point of the Cap d'Or Peninsula, one of the most spectacular spots on the coast, affording a magnificent view over the horizon. It was built at the end of the 16th century as a coastal fortress, along with the other watchtowers along Valencia's coastline. These were in contact with each other to warn of possible pirate attacks. It is seven metres in diameter and eleven metres high. Half of the interior is solid stone. Nowadays the entrance has been sealed but this once led to a terrace which was reached by a rope latter. There were two cannons, which were discovered on the Portet beach in 1980. There is an archaeological site on the south-eastern side of Cap d'Or dating to Upper Palaeolithic times.
Download your Alicante guide!