It was constructed in the 1920s as the barracks for the Civil Guard. Nowadays it houses the Youth Information Centre as well as classrooms where courses and cultural activities are offered. We can also find the Museum of Technology of Jijona here in room 2 on the first floor. A wealth of cultural heritage generated by industry, especially that of turrón during the last two hundred years, is on display in this museum.
Museum with historical exhibitions and objects related to the festival of the bonfires of San Juan. In its interior you can see collections of the pardoned ninots (the figures that are saved from the fire) models of bonfires, typical costumes, etc. The museum is completed with an audiovisual room that has been showing sequences of these parties for years.
Marine reptiles, replicas of dinosaurs, remains of mammoths… A fascinating world where we transported to the Paleaozoic era by means of audiovisual shows and workshops. All this and much more awaits the visitor to the Paleontological Museum of Elche (MUPE), inaugurated in 2004 in the traditional neighbourhood of the Raval. The more than 1,200 fossil and models displayed within its halls provide a complete tour of the exciting history of life on our planet. It is made up of two floors. The lower floor is devoted to palaeontology in general, whilst the upper floor provides an profound insight into the geological history of the province of Alicante and its neighbouring areas. T-Rex The entrance hall to the MUPE hosts a reconstruction of the study of Pedro Ibarra, archivist, librarian and archaeologist of the early XX century and a pioneer in the area of archaeological and palaeontological research in the city. From this commencement, our journey through time begins with an audiovisual show about the origins of the universe and the appearance of the first forms of life on Earth. Three halls recall, in order of antiquity, the three periods, Paleozoic, Mesozoic, Cenozoic, through the fauna and flora which existed in each era. Amongst the fossils which are on display, some of the highlights are the exceptional examples of trilobites, ammonites and a mosasaurio, a marine reptile. There are also replicas of dinosaurs, a skull of a T-Rex and model of a Spinophorosaurus nigerensis, a new kind of dinosaur from Niger, whose origins were determined by the team of palaeontologists at the MUPE. Remains of Mammoths The palaeontological wealth of the province of Alicante may be truly experienced through the displays on the upper floor, with examples of discoveries from Elche, Crevillent, Guardamar and Aspe, as well as from nearby areas, such as Morella and Ribesalbes (Castellón), Las Hoyas (Cuenca) and Quibas (Murcia), amongst others. Amongst the stars of the MUPE, which is full of very interesting exhibits, some outstanding highlights are the original dinosaurs remains from Morella, impressive mammoth remains from Crevillent and fish in an exceptional state of conservation, which reflect one of the most important geological events in the history of the Mediterranean: its drying up. Unique in Alicante In addition, the visitor may enjoy an area of temporary exhibitions, home at the moment to a display of minerals. The MUPE is the only paleontological museum in the province of Alicante. In addition to treasuring part of the province´s rich heritage, it carries out research, conservation and educational activities.
The "Casa Gran" of El Castell de Guadalest or "Casa Orduña" was built after the great earthquake of 1644 that devastated the region and devastated the dependencies of the castle. It was built by the Basque family of the Orduña family. They came to the Kingdom of Valencia with Infante Fortuna de Navarra; later they went to the service of the Cardona, admirals of Aragon. D. Sancho de Cardona received in 1543 the title of Marquis of Guadalest. When the Orduña enjoyed all the confidence of the marquises, they were sent to Guadalest and acted for almost three hundred years as alcaides of the fortress and governors of the marquisate. The house was burned and looted during the War of Succession (1708). In 1756 D. Pedro Antonio Buenaventura de Orduña y García entered the Military Order of Santiago, thus obtaining access to the nobility. The family procured to its members, not only economic relations or social influence, but also the best and most solid cultural formation that was possible to acquire in the second half of the 20th century. XVIII and throughout the s. XIX Among its members we find, fundamentally, lawyers and military. The current dependencies of the house correspond to the moment of maximum splendor and influence of the Orduña family exercised through D. Joaquín Mª de Orduña. The decoration adapts to the aesthetic tastes of the bourgeoisie that lived through the political changes of the second half of the century. XIX This building was a large house in a small town and therefore, immersed in a rural and inbreeding environment geographically far removed from the influences of important cities. The house occupies an irregular plot. On the east, it leans against and overcomes the rocks, on the west it is the neighbor of the parish church, occupying spaces above the chapels of the epistle. The building is supported by masonry load-bearing walls. Wood, plaster and ceramic bricks are part of its construction. It has four levels and a cellar all accessible by different stairs. ENTRANCE ROOM. The entrance door, framed by a sober semicircular stone arch, is surprised by the simplicity of the pointed arches of the room. It is decorated with religious oil paintings: The Immaculate Conception, The Most Holy Trinity, San Pascual Bailón, Santa Bárbara, La Virgen de la Rosa and Nuestra Señora del Carmen. ROOM OF THE ARCHES. Going up a small staircase, we enter a room where part of the awarded works are exhibited in the annual painting contest "Villa de Guadalest". ANTESALA AND SALA DE LA VIRGEN. In these rooms we can contemplate a small canvas; The family tradition testifies to having received a "Letter of Brotherhood" from San Buenaventura. Through this privilege the family was linked to the spiritual life of the Franciscans. The most interesting object in this room is a canvas painted on both sides. In its front part it shows an "Ecce Homo" (of unknown author) with the cane in his hands interlaced and a red cloak slipping on his shoulders. It is a proportionate figure and without concessions to the drama of blood. It has the peculiarity of being painted on both sides. The back (visible in a mirror), represents "The wounds on the back of the Savior", a rare theme in religious art. It is supposed to be a mouth curtain turned into a standard. In the next room, an urn keeps the recumbent processional image of Our Lady of the Assumption. It is a modern size, a copy of the one destroyed in 1936. It was owned by the family; it was lent to the town of Guadalest for the August celebrations and was always guarded in the house. The table placed on the front of the room, deals with the theme of "Transit or Dormition of the Virgin": the end of the earthly life of Mary as it is narrated in the Apocrypha. This piece of the s. XVI is undoubtedly the best piece of the house. It could be the altarpiece of the primitive church of Guadalest. It is attributed to the "Master of Alcira" and fits chronologically between 1527 and 1550. The monstrance kept in a showcase (18th century) is conceived as a radiant sun and its shaft is a figure with a Eucharistic symbol on its right hand and a cross on the left. We also find an oil painting of "The Immaculate Conception". THE KITCHEN and THE PANTRY. They maintain the original layout and many of the traditional utensils. In the inner courtyard a cistern is conserved. From the primitive north wall of the fortress you can enjoy a splendid panoramic view over the Guadalest reservoir and the Xortà and La Serrella mountain ranges. DINING ROOM. It contains an excellent collection of ceramics. It is worth mentioning the two Valencian pieces of metallic reflections (16th century), two jugs (late 19th century) and in the showcase, pieces of French, German and Valencian ceramics (18th-19th centuries). The visit continues going up to the noble floor. ROOM OF THE MAPS. The first room to visit on this floor is a small room. In it you can admire three mural maps printed in Paris in 1706. NOBLE HALLS On this floor the traditional arrangement of rooms and bedrooms is maintained. They show us how private life was conceived in past centuries. The furniture, canvases, photographs and furnishings in general are those of these rooms. In the first room we find a splendid collection of large format photographs of members of the Orduña family in the s. XIX; an old table, an urn with the remains of a crucifix for which the family felt a great devotion and a small bargueño inlaid with ivory and old drawings of Catalan origin (XVII century). In the second room we are surprised by another bargueño inlaid with ivory and tortoiseshell, elements of marquetry and a small, but interesting oil adorning the door. The decoration of this room is completed by a gunsmith, a set of carved wooden chairs and a collection of family photographs. In the last of these three rooms we find, a complete set of chairs, armchairs and sofa of Elizabethan period (c.1850), a showcase with small objects of decoration, two engravings of the s. XIX and two canvases with the themes of "The Adoration of the Angels" and "The Flight into Egypt" (18th century). Before going to the library, we observe a staircase with a blessing pile on the right. It tells us that, from there, you can access the Tribune Room located above the presbytery of the parish church. The Orduña could occupy this space by virtue of an ancient privilege granted by the archbishops of Valencia. LIBRARY. Undoubtedly the most attractive set of the house. It has a total of 1265 volumes. The Old Fund catalog (1500-1800) consists of 589 records. The books present diverse formats and forms of binding. It is a family library with three basic moments in its formation: First moment: last third of s. XVIII, being the lawyer D. Francisco de Paula Orduña, the person who more books (according to the exlibris) contributed to it. He introduced traditional legal issues and others that reflect the Spanish and European political effervescence, between the convening of the States General in France (August 8, 1788), and the Riego uprising (January 1, 1820). In a second moment they entered diverse books of religious, philosophical character and classic Latin, coming from the disentailment of the convent of Capuchinos de Callosa d'En Sarriá. In the third moment (1850-1890) legal literature, regulations, legal provisions, etc. are registered. When leaving the library we find a room adorned with bakers with the arms of the Orduña family, family trees, vintage work and embroidery and a wardrobe with traditional lighting tools: candlesticks, candlesticks, oil lamps, etc. An oil painting whose theme is the Battle of Almansa (1707) reminds us of the participation in favor of the Bourbon cause of Don Juan de Orduña y Andrés. Finished the visit to the noble floor we went up to the third floor. SHOWROOM. "The" Casa Orduña "offers the visitor a room for temporary exhibitions of painting and sculpture, periodically renewed. Through the old stairs of the house you descend to the ground floor from where you can access the castle of San José.
Torrevieja’s floating museums are made up of three ships of different origins. On the one hand we have the S-61 Delfín Submarine and the Albatross III Customs Surveillance Patrol Boat. The S-61 was the Spanish Navy's first ship which was converted into a floating museum specifically in the town that gave it its combat flag in 1971. The Albatross III Patrol Boat belonged to the Customs Surveillance Service until the 23rd of March 2006, when it became Torrevieja's second floating museum. And lastly, the “Pascual Flores” schooner, a reconstruction of the original ship used by the sailors of Torrevieja to sell their prized salt.
This museum, inaugurated on May 13, 1995, is located next to the Parish of the Transfiguration of the Lord, to the right of the monument of the Patroness, the first monument in the world dedicated to the Festival of Moors and Christians. The museum has two floors in which all those elements of a festive nature have been placed, such as costumes, flags, weapons, documents, photographs ... that have been part of the history of the Festival of Moors and Christians of Ibi. The fund that is available in the Museum has been formed thanks to the invaluable collaboration of people and entities that have ceded the objects in a disinterested manner. The whole museum is decorated with festive music, screens with videos from previous years and a digitized tablet system where you can explore much more about the party. The museum consists of two floors. In the first of them we can find several rooms with mannequins that show the official costumes of the comparsas, both current and those of previous years. Apart from the official costumes we can also see some festive costumes, among them the Christian Captain costume, by the Comparsa Maseros, from the year 1930, buttoned with 58 silver coins. Rotating exhibitions are soon planned so that visitors can enjoy many more costumes. On this same floor you can also see a real size sketch and a bust in plaster with bronze treatment of the Moor and the Christian that contains the Monument to the Patroness, a monument that looks on our Church Square, which we can observe the outskirts of the museum. The second floor consists of several rooms, including the audiovisual room, this is used to make projections. We can also find the corner of the festeros of honor, a festive chronology, the music room, several exhibitions of photographs, flags belonging to comparsas, armament, the covers of party magazines, several historical documents of special relevance as the text of the embassies of the year 1872 or the Regulations of the Feast of the year 1913. Among other objects, instruments are exhibited with which the old paper cartridges were made, which, filled with gunpowder, were used to load blunderbusses and arquebuses in the firing acts. A museum that hides a lot of history, without a doubt, if you are passionate about the Moors and Christians, you can not stop visiting it. In the museum you can find: -Chart of Vicente Ferrero: bust and design to original size, of the Moor and Christian that looks in the Plaza de la Iglesia - Photographic album that shows the remodeling process of the Plaza de la Iglesia, prepared by Enrique Pastor Castelló -Figures of Moor and Christian, exterior poster and figure of the Virgin of Olegario Bernabeu - Corner with the images of all the honorary party -Focus charges images corner -Made of all party magazines and posters -Aquarelas original by Rafael Guarinos that served as an illustration for the trilogy of: '' Ibi, a shared destiny ''. -Photos of all the Festivals Commissions since 1962 -Mural of emblematic photos of our Fiestas since the 19th century - Holiday Chronology -Projection header official video of Fiestas 2015 News in the museum: -Book of Gold -Collection full Official Party Magazines - Music scores corner -The Almogávares bring their old flag after changing it for the 50th anniversary of the comparsa -New costumes -Car of "Paco el del Carro" -Two pieces of artistic archaeological heritage of the Valencian Community. Painting with the representation of the Patroness, Mare de Déu del Desemparats and another representing the coronation of the Virgin Mary
The Nativity Scene Museum is located in a traditional house typical of the city’s Old Quarter. It is home to a permanent exhibition of nativity scenes in homage to the great nativity scene tradition of Spain and various other countries around the world, and its collection includes several international pieces.
During the Spanish Civil War, which took place from 1936 to 1939, dozens of air-raid shelters were built so that the population could be protected from the bombings carried out by German and Italian aircraft to try to subdue the enemy camp. Alicante suffered more than 70 bombings in this period. The Museum of the Plaza Seneca, is a shelter from that time preserved and in which you can make guided tours at an affordable price. Find out about the conditions and do not forget to visit it.
Type of Event: Activities for children ACTIVITIES: Museum: Saturdays from 4:30 to 7:30 p.m. Second Sunday of the month, from November to April and from 10:30 to 13:30. Free entrance. FCAT VV (Ferrocarril Alicante-Torrellano live steam, 1/8 scale trains manned). Maquetismo Train service: Saturdays from 4:30 to 7:00 p.m. Donation to travel on trains: 1.50 euros. Train service with steam traction "Alicante - Torrellano Vapor Vivo (FCAT VV)": The "Ferrocarril Alicante Torrellano vapor vivo" is one of the activities carried out by the Associació Alacantina d'Amics del Ferrocarril. Within the railway hobby, one of the most interesting aspects is that of railway model. Among the multiple scales and trends, the most striking for its possibility of public use is the so-called manned live steam (steam-live or live-steam they call most European fans). The dimensions, its facilities to the outside, the circulation of locomotives with steam traction, the use of mineral coal as fuel and the possibility of converting the amateur into authentic machinist are the characteristics of these small scale railroads, which have more and more adepts . Days of operation of trains with steam traction: Second Saturday of the month, from May to October, from 4:30 to 7:30 p.m. Second Sunday of the month, from November to April, from 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Donation to travel on trains: 1.50 euros. Special days for groups, associations, groups, previous concerted visit. Schools: School days previous concerted visit.
Avant-garde building, located at the southern entrance to the town, which was opened in 2002. Its exterior architectural design highlighted by the play of volumes that make up the building, covered with zinc and glass walls. It stands inside an oval hall, which hosts numerous exhibitions, the auditorium and projections, as well as offices and other smaller rooms where courses and workshops are held. Since 2010 also it houses the tourist information office in the municipality adhered to the Tourist Info Network.
Download your Alicante guide!